AI video editor pricing compared (2026)
Last updated 2026-10-20
Most AI video editors sell a monthly or yearly subscription, and many meter AI work in credits on top. Yearly billing usually costs less per month. Free tiers cap export quality, add a watermark or limit minutes. Final Cut Pro is the one-time purchase in this comparison. Prices checked October 20, 2026; they change.
Prices for subscription and credit editors
Prices checked October 20, 2026; they change. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page, in US dollars.
The CapCut and VEED rows carry no prices. CapCut lists prices in your local currency and says to sign in for final pricing, and VEED's US dollar prices could not be confirmed.
| Editor | Monthly price | Yearly price | Free tier | AI usage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CapCut | Local currency only; sign in for final pricing | Local currency only; sign in for final pricing | Caps not stated | Monthly credits: 1,200 on Pro, 6,160 on Ultra |
| Descript | Hobbyist $24, Creator $35, Business $65, per person | $16, $24, $50 a month | 720p export, 60 media minutes a month, 100 AI credits once | Monthly credits: 400, 800, 1,500; top-ups on Creator and Business |
| VEED | Not confirmed in US dollars | Not confirmed in US dollars | Watermark; other caps not stated | Credits refresh each period, no carry-over; billed per seat |
| Kapwing | Pro $24, Business $64 | $16, $50 a month | Watermark, 4-minute exports, 720p, 10 credits | Monthly credits: 1,000 on Pro, 4,000 on Business |
| invideo AI | Starter $20, Plus $60, Max $150, per seat | $10, $30, $75 a month, shown with a 50 percent promotion | No free plan card; its FAQ mentions a Free plan without limits | Credits per seat: 400, 2,000, 5,000; no rollover |
| Opus Clip | Starter $15 (monthly only), Pro $29 | Pro $14.50 a month, $174 a year | Free plan: 60 credits a month, 1080p, watermark, clips export for 3 days | Credits: 150 on Starter, 300 on Pro; Pro rolls over 2 months |
| Submagic | Starter $19, Pro $39, Business $69, per member | $12, $23, $41 a month | Not stated; page says Try for free | Credits: 45, 120, 300, listed as 15, 40 and 100 videos |
| Captions (iOS plans) | Max $24.99, Frontier $69.99 | Not stated | No AI credits, one caption template | Credits: 500 on Max, 1,400 on Frontier; roll over up to 3 times the monthly amount |
Desktop editors and one-time purchases
Adobe, Apple and Blackmagic sell desktop editors on different terms. Woven is listed here too.
| Editor | Price | Free option | AI usage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe Premiere | Annual commitment, billed monthly; US dollar price not confirmed | Free mobile app; free trial on the paid plan | 25 generative credits a month |
| Final Cut Pro | $299.99 one-time, or $12.99 a month or $129 a year with Apple Creator Studio | 30-day trial of Creator Studio | No credit meter stated |
| DaVinci Resolve | Studio $295 | Free version, limited to 8-bit video, 60 fps and Ultra HD | Credits not stated; Neural Engine features are in Studio |
| Woven | $39 a month, or $299 a year (shown as $25 a month billed yearly) | 3-day free trial with a card and $5 of credits | $10 of credits a month; generation, captions and hosted chat use them |
Subscription, credits or one-time purchase
Three billing models appear in this list, and the headline price hides how they differ.
- Subscription. You pay every month or year for access. Yearly billing costs less per month but commits you for 12 months.
- Credits. A plan includes a monthly allowance for AI work. Carry-over rules differ, as the table shows.
- One-time purchase. Final Cut Pro is sold as a one-time purchase. DaVinci Resolve Studio's page shows one price without saying how it is billed, so confirm before you buy.
What to check before you pay
Three checks catch most surprises.
- The free tier's limits. Look for a watermark, a resolution cap, an export length cap and a minutes cap. Opus Clip's free clips, for example, stop being exportable after 3 days.
- What a credit buys. Some pages spell it out. Kapwing lists how many minutes of auto-subtitling each plan's credits cover, and invideo AI lists credits per generated clip. Others do not, and invideo AI says it can change credit costs without notice.
- Seats. Descript, VEED, invideo AI and Submagic price per person, seat or member, so a team multiplies the figure.
What Woven costs
Woven Video costs $39 a month or $299 a year, shown as $25 a month billed yearly. A 3-day trial with $5 of credits comes first, and it asks for a card. Each month adds $10 of AI credits. Generation, captions and Woven-hosted chat run on credits, and optional top-ups start at $5 and never expire.
Ask in chat
- Transcribe this recording and caption it, one word at a time
- Generate a six-second clip of a coffee pour and cover my opening shot with it
Or do it by hand
- 1Check your credits. Open Settings. It shows your plan and how much of this month's credits is left.
- 2Caption once. Choose Add, then Generate captions. Captions are charged by usage, and a file you already transcribed in Woven adds no charge for those seconds when captioned again.
- 3Fix words without recaptioning. Retype a misheard caption word yourself, or have the agent fix it. The fix adds no transcription charge and the word keeps its timing.
- 4Generate by chat. Ask the agent for images, video clips or audio. These use credits by usage, and prices shown before a job are estimates.
- 5When credits run out. Woven says when your monthly credits refresh. You can also top up from $5.
Common questions
Descript lists Hobbyist at $24, Creator at $35 and Business at $65 a month per person, or $16, $24 and $50 a month on yearly billing. Its free plan exports at 720p.
Its pricing page shows three paid plans, Starter, Plus and Max, and no free plan card, though its FAQ says a cancelled account drops to a Free plan. Starter is $20 per seat a month, or $10 on annual billing while its 50 percent promotion shows.
Several editors have free tiers. DaVinci Resolve lists a free version limited to 8-bit video, 60 fps and Ultra HD. Descript's free tier exports at 720p, and Kapwing's adds a watermark and stops at 4 minutes.
Descript, VEED and Kapwing sell paid plans with credits for AI work, as CapCut Pro does. For an editor where you work by chat on a timeline on your Mac, see the Woven and CapCut comparison.
Mostly by the month, with a credit allowance for AI work. Submagic lists its credits next to a video count, 45 credits for 15 videos on Starter. Final Cut Pro is the one-time purchase here.
Sources
- CapCut pricing, checked October 20, 2026
- CapCut Help: How much does CapCut Pro cost, checked October 20, 2026
- Descript pricing, checked October 20, 2026
- VEED pricing, checked October 20, 2026
- Kapwing pricing, checked October 20, 2026
- invideo pricing, checked October 20, 2026
- Opus Clip pricing, checked October 20, 2026
- Submagic pricing, checked October 20, 2026
- Captions pricing, checked October 20, 2026
- Adobe Premiere plans, checked October 20, 2026
- Adobe Premiere product page, checked October 20, 2026
- Final Cut Pro - Apple, checked October 20, 2026
- DaVinci Resolve - Blackmagic Design, checked October 20, 2026
Try Woven free for 3 days
Then $25/mo billed yearly ($299/yr) or $39/month. Native Mac app for short-form video.
Paste into Claude Code to install and connect Woven.